residential (rural)

Life course

working age adult


Generally well / good wellbeing


broadband, smart phone, tablet, digital TV
Leila is in good health and works as manager in a senior home. She lives in a small village, 13 km from the nearest city, together with her sons, Sammy (10) who has type 1 diabetes and Ed (20), as well as Ed’s girlfriend. Leila is sporty and active and does not experience any special difficulties going through menopause, but her divorce 4 years ago has complicated her life. She also provides moderate support as an informal carer to 3 elderly adults in her life: her father, who lives in a different town; her ex-mother-in-law, who has dementia and lives in a care home, and her 93-year old neighbour, who lives alone in a bungalow.

Internet usage

Mobile device skills

Affinity to new tech

Digital Health Literacy

Assistance (ICT use)

What's important to Leila

– Staying in good health; attending a weekly Tai Chi class and running 2x/week, keeping a small garden in shape.
– Family-oriented but keen to become more independent (e.g. moving home once eldest son and girlfriend graduate).
– Being socially conscientious and people-focused.
– Being good at multi-tasking.

Health concerns

– She has no immediate health concerns, but her eyesight is potentially worsening; she had occasional back problems in the past due to work that required heavy lifting.
– She had several short-term relationships in the past. On one occasion, she experienced bladder inflammation (cystitis).
– She is menopausal but experiencing no side-effects.

Daily living

– Leila balances well her multiple responsibilities.
– Leila and her family are highly dependent on her income.
– Both her job and family require her to stay healthy and mobile (able to travel).

Health tests

– Regular breast cancer tests and cervical smears.
– Regular blood pressure tests.
– In the future when Leila turns 60, she will be able to have a general comprehensive health check/test.

Events, issues & personal concerns

– Winters can sometimes be tough, especially because of the amount of car driving Leila does. She wonders whether she could be experiencing winter depression (“Seasonal Affective Disorder – SAD”) and would like to bring this up with her GP.

Treatment: medications, therapies, etc.

– Still taking oral contraceptives, which are free with her country’s health service.
– Keeps a standard “first aid kit” in the house, filled with aspirin and paracetamol just in case they are needed.

Own resources & assets / support

– Leila remains economically independent until retirement age.
– Her 2 sons are helpful around the house and in the garden and she has a cleaner who comes twice a week.
– Leila, her son Ed and his girlfriend are all able to drive.
– She is well-informed about the local care services on offer.

Care professional concerns

– Leila is less concerned with the situation of her father and ex-mother-in law, but is considering getting in touch with her elderly neighbour’s family about potential future care needs.
– Due to her own family responsibilities, she may overlook her own needs as an individual.


– Food shopping service for herself and her neighbour.
– Potential insulin training for her son, Sammy, so that he can start monitoring his insulin himself.
– Information on SAD and/or potential check-up with doctor.
– Because Leila is a member of the Asian community, with particular health development needs, she is aware of people close to her who are developing or who are at risk of developing diabetes.
– Leila is aware of elderly members of her community who have language difficulties when talking about their health situations and needs.

Developed by

Diane Whitehouse, EHTEL and Soo Hun, Public Health Agency, Northern Ireland